The Cassino Cable car was built before World War Two to connect the monastery of Monte Cassino with the town of Cassino. The inauguration took place on 21st May 1930, in the presence of all the civil and religious authorities of Cassino. After the cutting of the inaugural ribbon, the abbot of Montecassino Don Gregorio Diamare blessed the cabin.Finally, after centuries of isolation, the monastery of Monte Cassino was connected to the town of Cassino, crossing a gorge which would take the whole of a tiring day to cover on foot.The cable car started just outside the railway station and it arrived up to the top of Monte Cassino Monastery overcoming the difference in height of 428 meters with a path of 1511 meters.
The speed was 3.6 meters per second and 10 passengers the capacity of each of the two small cars, the hourly capacity of the line is 120 passengers. The two stations had a large hall for the travelers. Large windows let people see a nice landscape all around. The Government wanted to promote the national tourism to Monte Cassino, cradle of European Civilization. In late 1943 the Cable Car was completely destroyed. It was brought down by a german aircraft, the pilot didn't survive the clash. After its cables had been severed by the crash, the upper pylon of the cable's car, in the grim humor of the troops in the valley, seemed to beckon like an executioner’s gibbet – hence the name Hangman’s Hill”.
The cable-car was not resumed after the war, because, in restoring the monastery to its former beauty, a proper tarmac road was built from the bottom to the top. Before 1944, the road up was just flagstones.
Hangman’s hill or quote 435 played an important role during the Battle of Cassino. Against all Odds C Company of 1st Battalion, 9th Gurkha Rifles, led by Captain M.R. Drinkhall DSO, managed to reach Hangman’s Hill. The Gurkhas held Hangman’s Hill for nine days, from 15th to 23rd March 1944 against constant German attack, before a lack of ammunition and supplies forced them to withdraw.The cable service was not resumed after the war, because, in restoring the monastery to its former beauty, a proper tarmac road was built from the bottom to the top. Before 1944, the road up was just flagstones. There are projects in progress to rebuilt a similar route with a new cable car.